Tags

, , , , , ,

To be honest, I never really wanted to talk about this “beef” when it originally surfaced, simply because I believe that these are two of the softest rappers in the game. No one was saying any names, and every one was keeping things really subliminal. That’s lame. Now, however, Common has upped the ante, calling Drake out BY NAME on the remix to Rick Ross“Stay Schemin”

If you haven’t gotten a chance to listen to Rick Ross’ new mixtape (you can download that here) you may have missed Drake’s latest response to Common’s original jabs via interview and the track “Sweet”… here’s what he had to say on the original version of “Stay Schemin'”

“It bothers me when the Gods get to acting like the broads
Guess every team doesn’t come complete with n*ggas like ours
That’s why I see no need to compete with n*ggas like y’all
I just ask that when you see me you speak up n*ggas that’s all
Don’t be ducking like you never wanted nothing
It’s feeling like rap changed
There was a time it was rugged
Back when, if a n*gga reached, it was for the weapon
Nowadays n*ggas reach, just to sell they record”

He also had a few choice words for Kobe Bryant‘s soon to be ex-wife Vanessa in that verse that I took offense to, but that’s beside the point. All eyes are on Common now. Take a listen to his response:

I mean, even the cover art is disrespectful! Like…REALLY?! Is this what we’ve come to?

Here’s my thing. I don’t know why this beef started to begin with. They are both capable of cottony soft raps…and yes, Drake sings, but he is a skilled rapper. And he’s selling records. I never understood why Common was mad. It just doesn’t make sense. And he’s too old for this.

I think that these guys should just dap it up, and hug it out. I don’t believe either of them. Common’s last movie role was Happy Feet 2. Come on son. It will however be interesting to see where this leads though. Hopefully it stays on wax, because we don’t need any OVO/G.O.O.D. Music drama. Shout out to Common for using that Say My Name sample though. THAT was classic!

via [MTV RAP FIX]

