Tags

, , , ,

SO…when this hit Twitter News Wire last night, I must admit that I was highly confused. Now, a little more than 12 hours later, I’m still not sure that I’ve grasped the rhyme or reason…but whatever. It’s not my life.

The fact of the matter is, Busta Rhymes is the newest member of the YMCMB family, officially signed to Cash Money Records. There’s no shade against Young Money / Cash Money, but, I just don’t really see the sound that they’ve been producing aligning with Busta’s sound. Now if he’s trying to go for a youth…then okay. It reminds me of superstar veteran NBA players (R.I.P. NBA) asking for trades to youthfully stacked teams in an attempt to get a ring before they retire. It’s good for business, but something about it makes you want to give them the side-eye. You can watch the official announcement here. Shot by Derek G, the video comes complete with Birdman‘s infamous hand rubs and barely audible speech.

Speaking of new sounds, check out Busta’s brand new song with Chris Brown, “Why Stop Now“…which I feel like was created to try to recapture the magic that “Look At Me Now” brought both of them. Listen below:

By the way, if you think you have the skills to spit like Busta, you should check out this contest. The winner will get a chance to appear in Busta’s next video.

