Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“Headlines” (Drake‘s first single from his forthcoming sophomore album Take Care) was received with a lukewarm response. Even I, who happen to be a fan, was a little less than hype about it. To me, it seems like more of an album track that you rock to…but not a lead-off single. But what do I know…I’m not an A&R. It’s doing ok on the Hot 100 (currently holding down the #23 spot) and really well on urban charts (#2 on the R&B/Hip-Hop charts) I guess the hope for the visual was to propel the song to the top of the charts. Since it was released last night via the OVO blog, critics have been very vocal with their displeasure. I don’t really see what the problem is. The song was never that great to me, but I actually thought the visual was pretty cool. Shot in Toronto last month, the video features Drake and his friends/goons in their now signature OVO Owl Crewneck Sweaters…and then Drake in another Cosby-style sweater smoking a cigar and drinking wine like some mob boss. Do I believe him when he talks about catching bodies…of course not! But it’s a rap song, and the visuals match the posturing in the song. Check it out for yourself below:

http://vimeo.com/29906266

Many rappers have dropped tops on luxury whips in their videos…but I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone drop the top on a stadium. Take Care hits stores on October 24th in 3 editions: standard, The Birthday Edition (deluxe, rumored to have about 24 tracks), and the OG Ron C Chopped and Screwed Edition. Pick your poison.

