Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you missed my live tweets of the nomination announcements this evening… (you should follow me on Twitter) but have no fear, I have them all here for you. The nomination special aired this evening on 106 & Park, with guest appearances from nominees Busta Rhymes & Big K.R.I.T., cypher participant Meek Mill and the show’s host, Mike Epps. There are, as usual, some very interesting nominations, a few snubs… and a few givens. Lil Wayne leads all nominees with a MASSIVE 18 nods. Totally ridiculous. Check out the ENTIRE list below, plus info on the infamous cyphers that have been taped for the show.

Best Hip Hop Video

Big Sean f/ Chris Brown – My Last

Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes – Look At Me Now

DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – I’m On One

Eminem f/ Rihanna – Love The Way You Lie

Kanye West f/ Rihanna – All Of The Lights

*This is a tight category. If it’s really about the video, then I’d have to vote for All of The Lights or Love The Way You Lie*

Reese’s Perfect Combo Award (Best Collab)

Ace Hood f/ Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – Hustle Hard (Remix)

Big K.R.I.T. f/ Ludacris & Bun B – Country Sh*t (Remix)

Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes – Look At Me Now

DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – I’m On One

Lupe Fiasco f/ Trey Songz  –  Out Of My Head

*Another toss up. Who knows here? I’d place my vote on Look At Me Now*

Best Live Performer

Busta Rhymes

Cee-Lo Green

Jay-Z

Lil Wayne

Kanye West

*I think this one is between Kanye & Wayne… but the dark horse to look out for: Cee-Lo*

Lyricist of the Year

Jay-Z

Lil Wayne

Nicki Minaj

Rick Ross

Kanye West

*Hmm this is a tough one as well. I think Rick Ross might have it this year*

Video Director of the Year

Gil Green

Anthony Mandler

Chris Robinson

Kanye West

Hype Williams

*Totally snubbed in this category: Colin Tilley. He’s done EVERYONE’S video this year including two that are nominated for Video of The Year… WHAT GIVES BET?*

Producer of the Year

J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League

Kane Beatz

Lex Luger

No I.D.

Kanye West, Emile, Jeff Bhasker & Mike Dean

MVP of the Year

Lil Wayne

Nicki Minaj

Rick Ross

Kanye West

Wiz Khalifa

*I’m sure that Wayne will probably take this one home, but Ross definitely deserves it*

Track of the Year

6 Foot 7 Foot – Produced by Bangladesh (Lil Wayne f/ Cory Gunz)

Black and Yellow – Produced by Stargate (Wiz Khalifa)

I’m On One – Produced by T-Minus (DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne)

Look At Me Now – Produced by Diplo & Afrojack (Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne &

Busta Rhymes)

My Last – Produced by Lex Luger (Big Sean f/ Chris Brown)

CD of the Year

Big Sean – Finally Famous

Lupe Fiasco – LASERS

Nicki Minaj – Pink Friday

Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Wiz Khalifa – Rolling Papers

*MBDTF by a landslide… for me at least*

DJ of the Year

DJ Drama

DJ Enuff

DJ Envy

DJ Khaled

DJ Prostyle

Rookie of the Year

Big K.R.I.T.

Big Sean

Frank Ocean

Diggy Simmons

Tyler the Creator

Wiz Khalifa

*Confusing: Why is Frank Ocean nominated? I didn’t really think that he was a “hip-hop” artist. Another thing, as much as I LOVE Diggy… I know of a few artists who could have easily occupied that spot on the list…My vote goes to K.R.I.T.*

Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style)

Jay-Z

Lil Wayne

Nicki Minaj

Kanye West

Wiz Khalifa

*If we’re talking real style… this one is a no brainer.*

Best Hip Hop Online Site

All Hip Hop.com

Bossip.com

Nah Right.com

Rap Radar.com

World Star Hip Hop.com

*BOSSIP…? I don’t know anyone who visits Bossip for hip-hop news. It’s a good site for its purpose… but not for this category.*

Best Club Banger

Ace Hood – Hustle Hard (Produced by Lex Luger)

DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – I’m On One (Produced by T-Minus)

Lil Wayne f/ Cory Gunz – 6 foot 7 foot (Produced by Bangladesh)

Waka Flocka Flame – No Hands (Produced by Lex Luger)

Wiz Khalifa – Black And Yellow (Produced by Stargate)

YC Worldwide f/ Future – Racks (Produced by Sonny Digital)

Best Mixtape

Big K.R.I.T. – Return Of 4Eva

B.o.B – No Genre

J. Cole – Friday Night Lights

Kendrick Lamar – Section .80

Frank Ocean – Nostalgia, Ultra

*Just like the other category, Frank Ocean is cancelled out. I’d run w/ Section .80*

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse

Busta Rhymes – Look At Me Now (Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes)

Lil Wayne – Motivation (Kelly Rowland f/ Lil Wayne)

Nicki Minaj – Monster (Kanye West f/ Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj and Bon Iver)

Wiz Khalifa – Bright Lights, Bigger City (Cee-Lo Green f/ Wiz Khalifa)

Wiz Khalifa – Till I’m Gone (Tinie Tempah f/ Wiz Khalifa)

Hustler of the Year

Diddy

Jay-Z

Lil Wayne

Rick Ross

Kanye West

Verizon People’s Champ Award (Viewers’ Choice)

Chris Brown f/ Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes – Look At Me Now

Lil Wayne f/ Cory Gunz – 6 Foot 7 Foot

Nicki Minaj f/ Drake – Moment 4 Life

Kanye West f/ Rihanna – All of The Lights

Wiz Khalifa – Black And Yellow

 

 

One of the most anticipated portions of the whole show is the BET Cypher. Here’s the tentative list of participants:

BET 2011 Hip Hop Awards Cypher Schedule

Cypher 1: XV, Chris Sutton, Gilbere Forte, Jay Rock

Cypher 2: Rico Staxx, Wais P, French Montana

Cypher 3: Estelle, Lacrae, Saprano, Nitty Scott

Cypher 4: Rick Ross, Wale, Meek Mill, Pill

Cypher 5: B.o.B, Kendrick Lamar, Machine Gun Kelly, Tech N9ne, Big K.R.I.T.(?)

Cypher 6: Lady of Rage, Dom Kennedy, Skillz, Blind Fury

LECRAE made the cypher (two cheers for the Jesus kids!!!!)…and OH YEAH! Estelle too! Looks like it’s going to be a great show. It airs on BET Tuesday October 11th! For more information on the show, please check out the BET Press Room

