Tags

, , , ,

Kelly’s doing pretty well for herself these days. Her third solo album Here I Am (which I reviewed earlier this week) was released yesterday, and is doing pretty well on the iTunes chart with seemingly minute promotion. She’s also found herself on the cover of Vibe’s annual “Juice” issue, literally baring all. Now of course this has garnered a great deal of hate attention around the blogosphere, but  hey…as long as people are talking, you’re winning. The article is said to be one of Kelly’s most candid yet, with her fielding questions about re-uniting with her estranged father, and  her break-up with Matthew Knowles. Here’s an excerpt:

When you walked away from that last meeting with Mathew, did you feel an “exhale” moment? 
I did, but I also felt like, ‘Oh my God, what have I done?!’ I stayed in the house for two days. I was sad. It was like a funeral. I had to deaden that situation in order to start fresh. That’s a very long time to have the same manager and the same label.

What about your personal relationship with Mathew Knowles. Do you still talk to him? 
Mathew sent me flowers for my birthday!

But do you talk to him?
It’s… I respect him above anything.

I love how she side steps this question in every interview. She always answers, without answering. If you’re interested in the rest, you’ll be able to read the entire story when it hits news stands on August 16th.

In even more exciting news, Kelly revealed yesterday during an interview at New York’s Hot 97, that she would be going on tour with Chris Brown this fall. Starting in September, the two, a long with a host of other yet-to-be-named artists will embark on a US tour that is sure to be a fan favorite. Chris tweeted his excitement as well.

http://twitter.com/#!/chrisbrown/status/96135170956079104

He’s also promised that the tickets will be affordable, so that everyone will have an opportunity to get the CB experience LIVE. I’d definitely buy a ticket for that…what about you?

THANKS: VIBE & BILLBOARD

