Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Let me preface this post by saying that I am a J. COLE fan!

I’ve been hesitant to post my true feelings about his last few leaked pieces (for fear of being marked with the scarlet “H” labeled a hater)…but today…I can no longer hold my tongue. There are times when you come to expect a certain caliber of action from someone because you know that they have the ability and are capable of being excellent. HOWEVER, despite spurts of greatness, they always seem to fall short when it really matters. Some might call this “LeBron-itis”…I just call it under-performing in the clutch. Prime example: Lupe Fiasco… and now Mr. Jermaine Cole might be showing the symptoms as well.

This latest record with Trey Songz, is just…not right. Something about this track makes me wonder what is going on over at Roc Nation, and why J. Cole can’t seem to capture the depth that he showcased ever so brightly on mixtapes like The Warm Up and Friday Night Lights. I’m concerned, as a fan, as to why after almost 2 years, Cole still doesn’t have an album out (although his debut Cole World: The Sideline Story is set to be released on September 27th) and the singles that have been released (“who dat” and “work out”) have been received with lukewarm responses from listeners. Some, have responded with outright slander.

As a fan, I hope this is just material to throw us off, and then shock us with greatness once the album drops. And since he’s decided against releasing a pre-album mixtape, I hope he’s got some crack up his sleeves to get some steam behind it. If not…um. Yeah. Let’s just focus on the positive.

Take a listen to “Can’t Get Enough” and let me know if I’m over reacting.

DL: J. Cole x Trey Songz – Can’t Get Enough

