Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There is a lot of music today that is just…ANGRY, Depressing, violent, and obscene in nature. While I know that everything has a time and place, you flip on the radio and that is the DOMINANT force in music right now. Its sad, and honestly, its a sign of the times. The worst part of it all, is that we’ve become desensitized to it all.

Kids are sucked up by media like crazy these days, and because much of it is so negative and unbalanced, this generation’s youth are at a distinct disadvantage.

I’m not the only one who feels like this. Yesterday, everyone’s favorite blond-haired black boy tweeted this:

http://twitter.com/#!/chrisbrown/status/76356985632731139

Excuse his profanity, but…he’s right. Its wack. I’m a firm believer that what you put in your spirit is what comes out. So while we all have angry days, putting only negative & angry music in your ears from the time you get up until the time you close your eyes to sleep will keep you in a perpetual state of anger. You may disagree if you like, it’s your prerogative. *ques Bobby Brown*

Anyway, back to the music.

When I was younger, I would go in my room, close the door, and have singing sessions that would rival any concert you’ve ever been to.

…why am I lying. I still do that today. Fact of the matter is, when I was younger, my mother always had the radio on in the car, and since she was a singer, I was a singer too. That’s part of the reason my musical taste is so…classic. One of the songs that I loved growing up, was Soul 4 Real’s Candy Rain.

I remember being a little girl watching them perform this song on Nickelodeon’s All That. From that moment on whenever I heard it…I would sing my little heart out. While there are plenty of other songs that make me happy, (see Shanice’s “I Love Your Smile” and more recently Chris Brown’s “Beautiful People”) from the moment the beat drops, Candy Rain takes me back to happy days as a kid. Play this while I hit my Jackson 5 dance.

