Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve accepted the 30 Songs in 30 days challenge! For the next month, you’ll get a chance to take a peek into my mind through my musical taste, and hopefully I’ll be able to expose you to a few artists that you may have never heard of before! June is “Black Music Month” and this is part of my tribute. It’s my hope, that through these 30 days, you’ll get a chance to get to know me, and maybe even get exposed to a few tracks you’ve never heard before, or maybe forgot about.

Today’s challenge will probably be the hardest, as I had to go through THOUSANDS of songs in my mental register to come up with ONE favorite song. As I hit the list, I thought about the hip-hop in me, possibly the classic “Bonita Applebum” from the Tribe known as Quest, Jay’s “Song Cry” or Common’s “Faithful”. Nah.

I thought about the rock in me, and could have potentially chosen Aerosmith’s “Walk This Way”, or Daughtry’s “It’s Not Over”… but, eh. Not this time.

Or country. Like Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats”…or classic soul records like Stevie Wonder’s “My Cherie Amour” or Chaka’s “Sweet Thang”…but the final choices rested where my heart is, and that is in R&B.

I painstakingly knocked so many off the list, and it all came down to 3. Whitney Houston, Lauryn Hill, and Amel Larrieux all had gems left standing… so who came out on top? It was almost impossible, but I picked one. Here’s the background:

One day I was perusing through Myspace ( yes, that ancient social media relic founded by a smiling man named Tom) when I heard this record on one of my friends profiles.

I literally played it 10 times over, in that one sitting, and I haven’t stopped since.

Amel Larrieux’s “For Real” may be a shot in the dark choice, but I wanted something different. What draws me in, beside the Amel’s feather light voice, is the lyrical content of the song. Every girl, deep down in her heart, wants to experience the love Amel so described, in a simplistic yet eloquent way.  When I close my eyes and soak it in, this song takes me to a place of warmth. Although it hasn’t been my experience yet, It’s my hope that one day, I’ll be able to sing this song to someone special. Yeah. I’m soft. Watch the video below:

Oh and by the way if you’re wondering, the other two songs were Lauryn Hill’s “Ex-Factor” and Whitney Houston’s “Saving All My Love For You”

