Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was trying to decide whether or not to post this video a couple days ago when it was released. I originally chose not to, because while I understand the concept…it is a little racy. Well, apparently I wasn’t the only one who thought it could be just a little too much.

When Rihanna’s album LOUD came out a few months ago, she explained that one of her most provocative tracks “S&M” was not about sex. Right. Eleven countries have officially banned the song’s accompanying  4 minute clip from being viewed by their citizens. Even Youtube has restricted it, forcing users to sign in and confirm that they are over 18 before it plays. Rihanna has been pushing the envelope lately…drawing many comparisons to a certain Material Girl. When I heard that this track was going to be a single, I knew the video would be, for lack of a better phrase…off the chain.

Read on to see the video:

The spot was directed by Melina Matsoukas (who is also behind Rihanna’s “Rude Boy”, “Rockstar 101” and Beyonce’s “Why Don’t You Love Me”) When asked Melina responded to the controversy with this statement:

“When I go out to make something, I kind of go out with the intention to get it banned — [well] not to get it banned, I always want my stuff played — but to make something provocative. So when you do something that’s provocative, that’s usually a repercussion. It’s gonna be talked about or banned or slandered in some way. But it’s making an effect and people are having a dialogue about it, so, to me, that’s successful.”

I get it, and I actually like the concept of her dominating the media who constantly attack her, but she knows that if not for her, they wouldn’t get the clicks they need to survive.

That doesn’t change the fact that the video is raw. It reminds me of the “Kissable” commercial that was presented to Eddie Murphy in the movie Boomerang. But it’s not the first time. If you recall, Rihanna was completely naked, (barring body paint) in the video for her breakout single Umbrella.

Despite the controversy Rihanna is one of today’s biggest selling artists, and I doubt that this will slow her down.

