Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Since I graduated from Hampton in May 2010, I’ve been in my hometown of Houston, Texas. I’m always looking for interesting cultural things to do in the city, and the H-Town Sneaker Summit was a one of a kind experience that I truly enjoyed.

My friend Melissa and I took it upon ourselves to venture out to the Toyota Center together as two girls who know virtually nothing about sneakers…hoping to get a peek into the life of the local (and regional) sneaker heads. We did just that.

Retailers of all kinds had booths & mini-shops set up in the Toyota Center’s main corridor and in Section 100 of the Club Level terrace. Along the way we ran into plenty of Houston’s finest, including rappers like Killa Kyleon, Ricquo Jones and even Professor Bun B. We also got a chance to chop it up for a few with my fellow blogger Brando C from Day & A Dream. Later we spotted Dom Kennedy, Missy Mykie, and few others that we were pretty sure were famous at Exclusive Taste’s booth, but we just couldn’t tell you what their names were. I know. Blame it on our heads, not our hearts. We’re learning. DJ Mr. Rogers was live in the mix, and kept the crowd rocking as they made their way through the makeshift marketplace.

Of course there was a plethora of kicks…and I realized that I knew more about them than I thought I did, as I recognized the “South Beach” LeBron VIII’s and the Kobe VI’s which I fondly refer to as the “How The Grinch Stole Christmas” shoes. There were plenty of limited edition Nike Blazers, and a variety of Jordans…probably all of them. While we didn’t buy anything, we did walk away with a couple of mixtapes, a ton of flyers, business cards and an experience that we probably won’t forget. Take a look at the pictures I took while out and about:

