Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been to plenty of concerts in my young life, but it’s rare to hear an artist perform and sound exactly like their record. That takes a real ability to sing, which is less and less important in today’s industry. Corinne Bailey Rae is one of those rare, underrated artists who really and truly has a passion for her music, and it’s evidenced in her performance. She played two guitars, finger bells, a tambourine, something that looked like a guitar on a table top (not really sure what that’s called,) and a cowbell. She’s talented, to say the least.

My friends and I had an awesome time at the concert. We were in the very front, got some great shots, and were in serious pain after standing the entire show. I think it was worth it. The sold out crowd at the House of Blues was diverse in every way…there was a lesbian couple making out in front of us, a little latina girl with Corinne Bailey Rae wallpaper on her phone (who, after elbowing several times, we wound up letting squeeze right in front of us so she’d be able to see) hundreds of college kids and a balcony full of people old enough to be our parents. Needless to say, the mixed crowd sang along to hits from both CBR’s debut self-tiled album and her latest release, The Sea.

Here’s some footage and a slide show from the event…enjoy and live vicariously through me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a clip of Corinne performing her hit “Closer”

Oh, and a great big shout out to my dear friend Melissa for the pics. Don’t you just love when your camera dies?! Well my friend had my back. 😀

