, , , , , , , ,

I’ve had the pleasure of interning for The Women in Entertainment Empowerment Network for over a year now, and I’ve enjoyed every moment of my experience. When you believe in the mission of an organization, it’s not hard to promote it, and that’s exactly what I’m doing!

The 2nd Annual WEEN Awards are right around the corner! This year’s event will take place at the Asia Society and Museum in  New York City on September 2nd, and I will be in the house live to celebrate another successful year for the organization. I’m excited to say the least!

One of my favorite facets of the awards is the scholarship/stipend opportunity sponsored by HelloBeautiful.com and PressReset.me. This year four organizations will receive $1,000 stipends and tickets to the Award show. There were 9 finalists, and after almost 20,000 votes, the top four vote getters were:

The Posh Twins:  Owners, The Posh Boutique – Watch Their Entry

Ethopia “Bizness Girl” Lane: EP, PunchlineTV.com – Watch Her Entry

Shantelle Johnson: Founder, The Society For Girls Inc. – Watch Her Entry

Match Strike Media: An Emerging Production Company – Watch Their Entry

After watching the submission videos I voted for EVERYONE at least once. All of the finalists have done amazing work in their own right, and I was truly inspired. Congratulations to the winners!

If you’re not already, make sure you become a member of WEEN today. It’s free, and will only take you about 2 minutes! Also, if you’re planning on being in the New York City area on September 2nd, hustle over to the WEEN Awards Site and purchase a ticket! Bilal Oliver and Lyfe Jennings will be performing. Soledad O’Brien, Nia Long, LeToya Luckett, Angie Martinez, Hydeia Broadbent and Esther Silver-Parker will all be honored. Gail King and Alesha Renee will be presenting. Lauren London is hosting…

And if that’s not enough reason…September 2nd is my 22nd birthday, and I’ll be in complete celebration mode! You don’t want to miss it, so purchase your ticket TODAY because they’re almost SOLD OUT.