Tags

, ,

I get a lot of submissions now. I mean a lot. And sometimes it’s difficult for me to keep up. But this artist has delivered a project that is definitely worth the time, the download, the space on your iPod, and so much more.

Keon Supreme is an emcee hailing from Claremont, California. A poet since the age of three, and rapping since age 11, Keon has been perfecting his craft for a minute. The time and growth are evidenced in his music, along with the experiences that he encountered growing up in a family of devout Jehovah’s Witnesses.

“Although my family were Jehovah Witnesses and I had been involved in it all my life, I still felt like it wasn’t for me. I forced myself to do it to make my mother happy though. By the age of 17 I couldn’t pretend anymore and I decided to leave. That decision pretty much ruined the relationship with my mother.”

He could have let this experience ruin him, but instead, used the hurt as a catalyst to create some amazing music.

While listening, I could hear the thought and sincerity that drove each lyric. His music is thought provoking, to the point where you’re actually feeling like you’re a part of his world. I’m sure you want to experience that…don’t you?! Here’s your chance.

Released today, the free album “Supreme” is 12 tracks of pure talent over beats. Without saying too much, the album is solid conceptually and lyrically, not withholding any opportunity for you to bob your head. My favorite tracks? Check out “The Struggle” and “Now What”…make the decision for yourself by checking out the Keon Supreme Bandcamp page, or by simply clicking the album art above.

Before you go…when asked about what he wants listeners to get from this album he responded:

“I want them to feel like they can achieve anything no matter who they are or where they come from.”

Let me know what you think, or better yet, show Keon some love on Twitter
