Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DONATE TO HAITI NOW! CLICK HERE TO HELP!

Lionel Richie and Quincy Jones have teamed up again for a remake of the classic song “We Are The World.” Twenty five years after the original recording written by Richie and the late Michael Jackson, the new edition of the song was created to benefit the people of Haiti. The song features Kanye West, Barbara Streisand, Toni Braxton, Trey Songz, Justin Beiber, LL Cool J, Keri Hilson, Wyclef Jean, Janet Jackson, Mary J. Blige, Lil Wayne and many many more. Check out the video below, it’s…interesting, to say the least.

*Update* After watching this video two more times, it did not get any better. As a matter of fact, it got worse when I began to think about what an impact it will have. “We Are The World” is a CLASSIC powerful song, but with this remake, I feel that the legacy of the song has been tarnished by the sub-par auto-tune driven hip-hop verse. The first thought that came to my mind was: #FAIL. It’s almost disrespectful. Now don’t get me wrong, the vocal performances were amazing. But if the hip-hop performance is any indication of the artistry that our generation has to offer to the world through music…I’m deeply saddened for those to come. It is so bad, that several hip hop blogs are boycotting the song, and have shut down their sites. Now I won’t go as far, but I will say this. I’m disappointed. I expected more, and we MUST do better than this! What we CAN NOT forget however, is that this song, and all of it’s proceeds will be dedicated to the people of Haiti. Now more than ever, as the media coverage begins to fade, we must continue to stand in support of them through gifts of finance or time. I encourage you to help Haiti in anyway that you can. Thank you – ♥ AB

